ABER VALLEY COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED CWMABER

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE ABOVE COUNCIL HELD AT ABERTRIDWR COMMUNITY CENTRE ON THURSDAY 17TH MAY 2018

PRESENT:

Chairperson:	Councillor E. P Prendergast
Councillors:	M. Battle, D. Berry, L. Binding, J. Roberts, M. Stretch, P. Yandle
Clerk:	S. Hughes
APOLOGIES:	
Councillors:	D. Daniels, A. Diblasi, T. Richards, J. Taylor

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors and Officers were reminded of their personal responsibility to declare any personal and/or prejudicial interests(s) in respect of any item of business on this agenda in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000, the Council's Constitution, and the Code of Conduct for both Councillors and Clerk.

3. <u>MINUTES</u>

The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 17th May 2017 were reviewed.

4. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

Councillor E. P. Prendergast was elected as Chairperson and chaired the remainder of the meeting.

Members thanked Councillor D. Berry for all the duties he undertook in his role as the Chairperson for 2017/18.

5. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON

Councillor D. Daniels was elected as Vice Chairperson.

6. DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

Councillor E. P. Prendergast signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office having been elected as the Chairperson of Aber Valley Community Council.

Councillor D. Daniels to sign the form at the next meeting having been elected as the Vice Chairperson of Aber Valley Community Council

7. BANKING ARRANGEMENTS

It was agreed that the existing arrangements with the Co-operative Bank continue.

It was agreed that the Clerk be the Responsible Financial Officer for the Community Council in accordance with the requirements of Section 151 of the Local Government Act 1972 and the following Members remained as account signatories:

Councillor E. P. Prendergast Councillor J. Taylor Councillor M. Battle Councillor L. Binding

8. <u>COMMUNITY COUNCIL COMMITTEES</u>

Members were appointed to serve on the following Community Council committees:

- a) <u>Finance Committee</u>
 Chairperson, Clerk, Councillor J. Taylor, Councillor D. Daniels, Councillor T. Richards, Councillor M. Stretch
- b) <u>Forward Work Programme Committee</u> All Members

9. OUTSIDE BODIES

Members were appointed to serve as representatives of the Community Council on the following outside bodies:

- a) <u>Town and Community Councils Joint Liaison Committee</u> Councillor A. Diblasi and Councillor D. Daniels
- b) <u>Community Council Liaison Sub Committee</u> Councillor A. Diblasi (Reserve: Councillor D. Daniels)
- c) <u>Caerphilly & District Twinning Association</u> Councillor T. Richards
- d) <u>Aber Valley Partnership</u> Councillor E. P. Prendergast
- e) <u>Senghenydd Community Centre Management Committee</u> Councillor D. Berry
- f) <u>Abertridwr Community Centre Management Committee</u> Councillor M. Battle
- g) <u>School Governors</u>

Nant-y-Parc Primary School – Councillor D. Berry Ysgol Ifor Bach – Councillor T. Richards Cwmaber Infant School – Councillor M. Stretch Cwmaber Junior School – Councillor P. Yandle

10. ANNUAL ACCOUNTS 2017/18

Members received and approved the Statement of Accounts for the year ending 31st March 2018.

11. <u>RISK ASSESSMENT 2018/19</u>

Members reviewed and adopted the Risk Assessment for 2018/19.

12. POLICIES AND DOCUMENTS 2018/19

Members received a copy of the following documents:

Standing Orders Forward Work Programme Terms of Reference Finance Committee Terms of Reference Fixed Asset Register

13. CHAIRPERSONS ALLOWANCE 2018/19

The Chairperson left the room and took no part in the discussion.

It was agreed that the Chairperson's allowance for 2018/19 would be £100.

14. MEMBERS ATTENDANCE RECORD

The Member's attendance record for 2017/18 was presented.

Signed: _____ Chairperson Aber Valley Community Council